SOAP-ERROR: Parsing WSDL: Couldn't load from '' : failed to load external entity ""

Paul Cox


Director Paul Cox was born in Holland and grew up in Melbourne, Australia. A prolific filmmaker, he taught photography and began making low-budget features in the 1970s like Matuta (1965), Skindeep (1968), Island (1975), Illuminations (1976) and Underdog (1980), all of which influenced his DIY and artistic approach to the craft. His feature-length film Lonely Hearts (1981) won best film at the 1982 Australian Film Industry Awards, and went on to win Best Film and Director at the Houston Film Festival, the Rio de Janeiro Film Festival, and his next feature, Best Wife, also won Best Director, Best Actor and Best Screenplay at the 1984 AFIA awards.

Cox went on to release Man of Flowers (1983), Cactus (1986), Vincent (1987), A Woman’s Tale (1991), Exile (1994), Human Touch (2004) and Salvation (2008), all of which show a persistence and vision that sets him apart as one of Australia’s premier filmmakers.


2008 Salvation

2007 Kaluapapa Heavan (documentary)

2004 Human Touch

2001 The Diaries of Vaslav Nijinsky

2000 Innocence

1999 Molokai

1997 The Hidden Dimension (documentary)

1996 Lust and Revenge

1994 Exile

1993 Touch Me (short)

1992 The Nun and the Bandit

1991 A Woman’s Tale

1990 Golden Braid

1989 Island

1988 The Gift (TV movie)

1987 Vincent

1986 Cactus

1986 Handle with Care (TV movie)

1985 The Kingdom of Nek Chand (documentary short)

1985 Winners (TV series)

The Paper Boy (1985)

1984 My First Wife

1983 Man of Flowers

1982 Lonely Hearts

1979 Kostas

1977 Inside Looking Out

1976 Illuminations

1975 We Are All Alone My Dear (short)

1975 The Island (short)

1972 The Journey

1968 Skindeep (short)

Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.